Hashtaggeando Inner Chingona Style

24 Apr

hashtag

Lately, I’ve seen a hashtagging craze on social media.   The hashtags range from straight-up boring to downright hilarious.  I noticed that some of my hashtags always seem to get a reaction out of people, especially the ones in Spanish or, better yet, the ones in Spanglish.

Here’s a definition of a hashtag in case you don’t know what one is:

hash·tag ˈhaSHtag/
noun.  (on social media sites such as Twitter) a word or phrase preceded by a hash or pound sign (#) and used to identify messages on a specific topic.

I went onto my social media sites and took out some of the random entries including hashtags that always get a reaction and a lot of LOLs from folks.  Hashtags are like having the last word, or giving your statement a punchline, a word or group of words made to get a ‘boom!’ reaction and that relates to what you’ve just posted.  Some folks tend to go overboard with the hashtags, in my opinion.  The shorter, the more down-to-earth, the more real, the better.

disposable coffee cup close

Take this morning for example, I had to get into meetings this morning, bought a medium coffee, and was still extremely drowsy as I drove into the office which got me to thinking the following:

“This café is not helping wake me this AM. If I find out that “el mac donal” gave me DECAF at this hour, va a haber bronca, it will be ON. #TooEarlyForFregaderas

Because, yes, it was too early for fregaderas!

 

carmen hair flying

 

While I do own a hair dryer and straightener, I’m a huge fan of opening all four windows of my Jeep and driving on the freeway to dry and, better yet, straighten my hair.

“My favorite hair dryer and straightener. #estilorancho

 

clothesonbed

Just last week, I wanted to put my room in order as our Ita would be coming over and staying in my room.   I put everything onto the bed and started working through that ‘montonal’ of clothes, books, and junk.  At about midnight, I was ready to toss everything:

“OMG only I would decide to spring clean at night! Kiki came to see how I was and I flipped my middle finger at this mess! LOL. I say I should just throw it all out!#QuienMeManda

 

dogs

Ya’ll know that I’m on the eternal quest to stick to an exercize plan…I love walking outside and, while walking in a park, one is bound to find folks walking their dogs.  One night last week, it seemed as if all of the huge horse-sized dogs were out and I always get nervous around dogs, especially big ones:

“Had to cut my walk short — too many very large dogs — while I wish dogs no harm, ya’ll KNOW I’m not a dog person. El colmo: a dog tamaño horse was sniffing my bottom as I walked, that was it. #EstasNalgasSonMias

clip-art-sweating-328953

Another day, it happened to be very hot as I walked:

“Good workout but oh so hot – if I could get away with it, I’d drive home in my chones LOL. It’s all about turn the música up and drive home with all windows down.#NoLonjaZone


I love checking out other people’s hashtags, some of the more hilarious ones are by comedian George Lopez, too funny!  My favorite one of his is #CalzonesTodosCagados – I laughed so hard at  that hashtag that I completely forgot what the actual post was about.  I’m been trying to get over writer’s block and MADE myself write about something tonight – just to get back to writing.  Maybe this ‘hashtaggeando’ thing just might do the trick and get me back to my regular writing schedule!  #DejaDeFlojerasCarmen

 

3 Responses to “Hashtaggeando Inner Chingona Style”

  1. Richard Rios April 25, 2014 at 9:42 AM #

    Funny! But how do you get them boldfaced or in color? Did you get my message about the idea of you writing a book (maybe a collection of your blogs?) & calling it “Releasing my Inner Chingona?” It’s not that hard to do. I published mine through an internet outfit?

    • ctorres716 April 25, 2014 at 11:34 AM #

      Yes I did! I will think about it and will need your help organizing when I get to that point…as for the coloring and bolding — I composed the blog entry on Word and bolded some of the parts, hashtags are like links, so they usually go into another color when you type them out. I then just copied and pasted to my blog.

  2. peggy April 25, 2014 at 4:46 PM #

    gracias carmen! what a great way to end a long, long week! i feel so much better laughing at your tags!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

