Milestone Day: My Published Article

28 Apr

10269355_10202580912378048_8632924431595331945_n

 

Love Milestone Days!  Got to my folks house last Friday and was pleasantly surprised to see that my article was published!   It’s always fun to see a dream realized and my parents were beyond proud of me, which is also very cool.  This article was an excerpt from a past blog entry on the joys of being Trilingual!   The article can be seen at http://www.joaguinmag.com  or you can read my blog entry below in Spanish, English and Spanglish…hope you like it!

Spanish Sunday Nights: Soy Trilingue

 

Soy Trilingüe:  Hablo en ingles, español, y en Spanglish!

 

Ahora que estoy estudiando, de nuevo, para tomar el examen Estatal para Interpretes, me la paso aprendiendo nuevas palabras y me pongo a pensar en el momento que comencé a hablar en español…bueno, disque en español porque fue una mezcla “mocho” tratando de buscar la manera de sonar natural, que mi vocabulario fuera fluido, donde no tendría que pensar en lo que quería decir…

Al escucharme hablar hoy en día,  a mucha gente le parece increíble que, en mi casa, no nos crecimos hablando en español – fue puro ingles.   Y bien me acuerdo, que de vez en cuando, algún familiar me diría algo como “porque no sabes hablar en español?”   A mí me daba mucha vergüenza – y no porque mis papas no nos hablaron en español sino porque yo quería aprender a hablar bien.   Estoy eternamente agradecida con mi Mama Margaret Torres – siempre nos hablo y nos enseno la gramática correcta en ingles y nosotros los 5 siempre hemos podido hablar y escribir muy muy bien en ingles.  Creo que fue a los 13 años que decidí aventarme a la lumbre y hablar en español, saliera como saliera.

 

Mi Tío Pascual (q.e.p.d.) fue el #1 en darme “carria” por mi manera particular de hablar en español.  Una vez estábamos en una fiesta familiar y me dijo, “si tanto sabes de español, entonces deletréame la palabra ‘Tzintzuntzan’ y lo hice perfectamente!  También me atreví a decirle que yo iba a aprender a hablar el español un día y que si quería ‘bailar’ conmigo, que aprendiera a hablar en ingles!   Me cerré los ojos esperando que me reganara o  algo así, pero no, simplemente se rio y nunca jamás me volvió a decir nada al respecto.  Pero si contaba la historia de “Tzintzuntzan” de vez en cuando con una sonrisa!

Como hubiera querido poder haber conversado mas con mi abuela, Ma’Lupita, sin duda la mujer más chistosa y única que he conocido en mi vida.  Porque yo SE que nos hubiéramos divertido mucho – ella con sus locuras y yo aprendiendo y riéndome.    Cuando sentí que ya estaba aprendiendo a hablar más español, ella ya estaba enferma del cáncer y, para la gran tristeza de todo el Rancho, falleció.

Más de una persona me ha dicho que tengo un buen sentido de humor y que se chismear y contar historias muy bien ya sea en ingles o en español.   El hecho de que pueda hacerlo en español se lo debo a mi papa, Mike Torres, a mi Mama Lupita, todos mis tíos del Rancho y una que otra persona quien nos llego de visita de Michoacán con su manera de hablar tan divertido y singular!  

 

Si tengo que hacerlo, puedo conversar inteligentemente completamente en español o en ingles;  pero a mí me encanta hablar en mi idioma principal, Spanglish, una mezcla de las dos!  Mucha gente dice que no es idioma oficial, que esto es hablar ‘mocho’, que no sabemos hablar ni una ni la otra, pero no es así:  es un producto de los dos mundos donde siempre he vivido y me siento en casa dondequiera que este!

 

ENGLISH TRANSLATION:  I’m Trilingual:  I speak Spanish, English, and Spanglish!

Now that I’m studying, again, for the State Interpreter Exam, I am constantly learning new words and it got me thinking to the time where I started to speak in Spanish…well, it wasn’t really Spanish as much as it was a mixture that everyone would call “mocho”, I was trying to find the way to sound natural, trying to find a way that my vocabulary would be fluid and natural, where I didn’t have to think about what I wanted to say, that I would just be able to say it.

 

When people hear me speak Spanish today, they think that it’s incredible that we did not grow up speaking in Spanish – English was spoken at home.  And I remember that more than one family member would tell me, “why don’t you speak Spanish?”   I would get really embarrassed, but not for the reason that you would think, not because my parents didn’t speak to us in Spanish but because the Type A in me wanted to learn to speak well.   I’m eternally grateful to my Mom Margaret Torres – she always spoke to us and taught us her correct, flawless, English grammar thus the 5 of us were always able to speak, read, and write very very well in English.  I think that I was around 13 or so when I decided to go for it and learn how speak Spanish, and speak no matter how it came out.

 

My Tio Pascual (RIP) was the number 1 person who teased me constantly about my way of speaking in Spanish!  I remember we were at a Ranch party one time and he starts up, he tells me, “if you’re so good in Spanish, then spell this word for me, “Tzintzuntzan”; which I did, and perfectly!  So then I got all bold and told him that I was going to speak really good Spanish one day and that if he wanted to make it a fair fight, that he should learn how to speak English!  Man I closed my eyes just waiting for him to go off on me but, to my surprise, he just started laughing and he never teased me again although he did bring up the ‘Tzintzuntzan’ incident up from time to time with a smile on his face!

 

How I wish that I could have been able to talk more with my grandmother, Ma’Lupita, who remains by far the most unique and funniest woman I have ever met.  Because I so KNOW that we would have had a blast – she with her hilarious self and me laughing and learning.  When I felt that I was learning how to really speak in Spanish, she was already sick with cancer and, to the Ranch’s great sadness still, she passed away.

 

More than one person has told me that I have a good sense of humor and that I can tell stories and do the gossip thing really well whether in English or in Spanish.  The fact that I can do it at all is because of my Dad Mike Torres, to Mama Lupita, all of the aunts/uncles on the Ranch, and random folks who would visit from Michoacán with their fun and unique way of expressing themselves!  

 

Now if I HAVE to do it, I can converse intelligently in English or in Spanish; but my favorite mode of expression is in what I consider my primary language, Spanglish, a mixture of both.  Lots of people go crazy saying that it is not an official language, that it is a bastardization of the language, “mocho” if you will, that we cannot speak one language or the other, but it is not like that:  it is a product of the two worlds where I have always lived in and that has allowed me to be at home wherever I am.

Edit This

 

 

2 Responses to “Milestone Day: My Published Article”

  1. latinopoz April 30, 2014 at 6:58 AM #

    Carmen!, that is AWESOME!!! i love the way u write, in general, pero tu espanol is truly wonderful!! ur thoughts flow so effortless and ur use of transitional werds gives the feel that spanish is ur first language—truly talented hermana. most all of us chicano/mexicano/latino hybrids, born en este lado would love to be able to speak both languages with ease, pero for me, that is not the case. somehow i always go back to the english and/or SPANGLISH como dices tu. especially my transitional werds; those r like so hard for me to master. pero le sigo haciendo el try!

    bueno pues, te me cuidas y keep doen yo’ thang! emailiamos de nuevo, eh?. saludos a la familia y abrazo fuerte. 2bro4life!!

  2. vern brooks April 30, 2014 at 9:54 AM #

    Carmen I found the time to read this I’m so proud of you, and to all of the strides you went through to accomplish what you have done, and where your journery will continue to take you on.  you are truly blessed to have such a strong famila around you.

    you are my strong famila sister.

    ps send me your current information phone # and e-mail

    Delia

    >________________________________ > From: Carmen’s Blog >To: dv_sound@yahoo.com >Sent: Monday, April 28, 2014 5:37 PM >Subject: [New post] Milestone Day: My Published Article > > WordPress.com >ctorres716 posted: ”   Love Milestone Days!  Got to my folks house last Friday and was pleasantly surprised to see that my article was published!   It’s always fun to see a dream realized and my parents were beyond proud of me, which is also very cool.  This artic” >

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

