Feliz Navidad 2010

FELIZ NAVIDAD 2010

2010 has been a year of dramatic change for me … at the beginning of the year; La Preciosa 104.9 was sold and guess what? we were all shown the door.  Luckily for me, I was able to join Voto Latino shortly thereafter and have worked on campaigns for the Census 2010, the 2010 Midterm Elections, and, now, the Dream Act.  I went from having a crazy, wild, commute, working 24/7, never having weekends off, rarely spending time with familia or friends, and living a stressful life to working from home, having little or no commute, learning how to work on East Coast time (as my colleagues are in Washington DC) so lots of times, I’d be done by 5pm most days,  organized myself into study groups so that I would not fall behind in school, finally having some weekends off, spending more time with my familia and friends, and trying to distance myself from stress.    While my job at Voto Latino is contract and will likely end in 2010, I am back in job search mode – not easy in this current economic situation.   

  

I am, however, very grateful that, while my life is not perfect, that FINALLY the important things are getting taken care of:  spending more time with familia and friends,  less stress,  my studies at SFSU are moving forward, si Dios quiere, I’ll be done in May 2011!    I feel like everything that I’ve tried to do this year was an investment – trying to live happier by connecting with friends and spending more time with my familia, paying that almighty SFSU tuition to move forward toward my certification in the Spanish/English Interpretation Program.  It feels like I’ve been guided to take care of the important things in my life that have everything to do with my emotional, spiritual, and physical health and nothing to do with money (because, believe me, $$$ doesn’t exist J).  Wish I could tell you that this wisdom just hits you como si nada, but it has taken a lot of prayer and work for me to keep centered and calm in my current situation!  Gracias a Dios, I have felt His backup at every step of the way … I’m sure that it was always there, but I didn’t listen as I was worrying about other things – a lot of them insignificant.  Mom’s always right … she always tells me to  ‘Let Go and Let God’!

 

Said goodbye to:  Uncle J, Aunty Vera, La Preciosa 104.9, La Voz de Oro Felipe Ojeda, the commute, my salary as I knew it, stress, working 24/7, saying ‘no’ all of the time to friends and family

 

Celebrated:  Dad’s 75th Birthday, the Mike Torres Band 40th Anniversary, Tia Lili’s 76th Birthday, Nicolasa’s graduation from UOP, taking a road trip with my ‘children’ in August, continued health of Mom and Dad, finishing another year at SFSU, the Grijalva Girls Christmas Reunion, the musical talents of my ‘children’ , getting to know my ‘children’ better than ever before this summer while they worked with me

 

Looking forward to in Dec and in 2011:  Christmas at the Ranch and working with our kids on the Ranch Christmas presentation, passing my final on Dec 15th, finishing school in May, Taking and Passing the State Interpreter Exam, Getting Another Job, Spending time with familia, Mom and Dad’s 50th Anniversary, watching my ‘children’ work toward their educational and life goals, hearing our little Yazi learn how to talk, and working at living healthier! 

 

My favorite quotes of 2010: 

1.  Si me caigo por pendeja, me levanto por chingona.

2.  Let’s dare to be ourselves, for we do that better than anyone else can!  S. Briggs

3.  I believe that God only gives 3 answers to prayer:  1.  Yes!  2.  Not Yet. 3.  I have something better in mind.

   

 

     

Have great holidays and a safe New Year, and keep in touch!

Leave a Reply

