Dia de Los Reyes

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                            In recent years, I’ve tried to really celebrate Jan 6th Dia de Reyes and we Torres’ have gotten together for a few years now to commemorate the day.   At work, ni se diga, whichever radio station I was with was always a part of a big Dia de Reyes celebration … last year, when I with La Preciosa, I remember we had a huge event in the cold and rain and people still came to Chavez Super in San Jose.  I remember Angelo and I were moving fast to cut a bunch of Rosca de Reyes (pan dulce) for folks!   It’s great to pass these traditions on and hope it goes on and on and on…

Christmas doesn’t ever feel over until we celebrate Dia de Reyes!     And did I put my shoes out for Los 3 Reyes?  You better know that I did along with my letter … what did I ask for?   Doesn’t count if you say it out loud!  But trust me, it is a colorful list and I’ll be grateful for whatever I get :)  So let’s hope that the 3 Reyes follow the star to my house🙂

Looking forward to seeing the familia later tonight at the Ranch to celebrate Dia de Reyes!

Below please find a cool description of this tradition in Mexico (and increasingly, here in the US):

Día de Reyes:

January 6th is Three Kings Day in Mexico, known as the Día de Reyes. This is Epiphany on the church calendar, the 12th day after Christmas, when the Magi arrived bearing gifts for baby Jesus. In Mexico children receive gifts on this day, brought by the three kings, los Reyes Magos, Melchor, Gaspar, and Baltazar. Some children receive gifts from both Santa Claus and the Kings, but Santa is seen as an imported custom, and the traditional day for Mexican children to receive gifts is January 6.

Arrival of the 3 Kings:

In the days preceding Kings Day children write letters to the Magi requesting a toy or gift that they would like. On the night of January 5th, the figures of the Wise Men are placed in the nativity scene. Traditionally children would leave out their shoes with a bit of hay in them to feed the animals of the Magi (they are often shown with a camel). When the children would wake up in the morning their gifts appeared in place of the hay. Nowadays, like Santa Claus, the Kings tend to place their gifts under the Christmas tree.

Rosca de Reyes:

Leave a Reply

