The Power of ‘VICKS’

The Mighty Little Blue Jar of VICKS Vaporub

“Pon vaporu alli para que te sientas major”, “hechate el vix” – I’m from a long line of Latinas who have grown up around the little blue jar of Vicks Vaporub. It is a cultural joke that Latinos swear that Vicks can cure everything! While I always laugh at this thinking that, “this does not apply to me”, you better know that I carry around a small jar with me at all times in my purse ‘just in case’. I usually use it like smelling salts when I feel a migraine or sinus headache coming on, helping to clear up sinuses.

Lately, I’ve had bad earaches due to water building up in my ear canal … these occur for me during allergy season and they drive me completely crazy! I had run out of my regular medicine and was taking aspirin to try and take the pain out … which has worked but the wait could be maddening as I have no tolerance for pain. So, in the middle of the night, don’t ask me why, I put some Vicks Vaporub on the affected ear … woke up a few hours later and was shocked to find that it worked! It allowed me to really sleep and stopped that throbbing pain. I guess “hechando el Vix” can really do wonders … if you believe…LOL

Leave a Reply

