To slang or not to slang 2: I say go for it! dale gas!

Gotta love mexicanos, they come up with the most hilarious slang or their own special pronunciation of English words! A lot of folks view it as trashing the English language but I think it’s such a cool phenomenon because they really are trying to pronounce the word as it should be pronounced: granted, it may sound a little funny pero se entiende! they are understood! Heard one on the radio awhile ago … el ‘donpei’ de la casa – which, as we all know, is a ‘downpayment’! LOL.

In my classes at SFSU, I was always the one who had a blast with slang, I feel completely comfortable throwing out slang words in English, Spanish, and, of course, Spanglish! Love this description of Spanglish that I found online: Spanglish is the term used to refer to the mixing of the English and Spanish languages …” With 10% of the U.S. population speaking Spanish [2], and the percent only expected to rise, a mix between the two languages seems inevitable. Spanglish, “takes three main forms: borrowing words, switching from on language to another between or even within sentences, and mixing the grammar of one language with the words of another [1].” Much debate exists over the idea of Spanglish, such as it being recognized as a language at all, rather than sloppy slang. Other criticism includes Spanglish in schools, its grammar structure and the overall standardization of the language.

When I was at Sac State, I used to drive Professor Hill in my Spanish Phonetics class crazy with my ‘slanguiadas’, to the point that he asked me to count the times I would “code-switch”, that is, switch to either English or Spanish during the course of a conversation — of course I lost count at 500 times! Now in Spanish class, I could totally understand the importance of speaking Spanish correctly and really did try to make the effort to do so. Now, fuera de clase, out of class is another thing, totally love to hear how culture affects language! Totally makes life interesting for me aaaand it’s always a welcome break for me especially when I’m studying proper Spanish and English all of the time! For me, it’s a total embracing of both of my worlds.

From time to time, I will ‘bloguear’ some of the funny Mexican slang and Spanglish words that I see or hear por ahi – you’ll definitely get a kick out of them and you’ll probably learn something too! An important tip: these phrases cannot just be spoken, you have to get into it and say it with feeling! LOL

¡Qué Poca Madre! (1) – slang
Literal Meaning: How little mother
Meaning: That sucks!
Example: Mis padres no me dejan ir. ¡Qué poca madre! (My parents won’t let me go. That sucks!)

¡Qué Poca Madre! (2) – slang
Literal Meaning: How little mother
Meaning: That’s awesome!/It’s awesome!
Example: Tu vestido es de poca madre. ¡Me encanta! (Your dress is awesome. I love it!)

¡Chin! – slang
Pronunciation: cheen
Meaning: Bummer! That’s a drag.
Example: Juan: Perdió tu equipo, La América. (Your team, La América, lost.) Lola: ¡Chin! (Bummer!)

A Poco – slang
Meaning: really?
Example: A poco crees que voy a salir contigo. (Do you really think I’m going to go out with you?)

Miti Miti – slang
Meaning: fifty fifty
Example: Este postre es divino. Pero porque te quiero, lo vamos a dividir miti miti. (This dessert is divine. But since I love you, we’ll split it fifty fifty.)

Although Spanglish and slanguiando is sooo much fun … it’s also important to make a concerted effort to speak proper English and Spanish as well!

Leave a Reply

