“Ojo” and other Popular Motherland Superstitions

Superstitions abound.  Sometimes, you find yourself doing something (or not) and you don’t even KNOW why/why not.

I’m blessed with a familia who is non-stop hilarious!  Gotta love the Ranch and the superstitions passed on from the motherland, Michoacán, especially.   Here is the BEST one I had ever seen/heard:  My Tio Mundo was sitting in a chair in MamaLupita’s yard with A BUCKET OVER HIS HEAD and the kids were throwing rocks at the bucket.  Why?  Because Tio Mundo had a migraine headache, the rocks against the bucket are supposed to take the headache away.  LOL!   My comadre has one about what happens when your nalga itches…cannot go into that in mixed company LOL.  It got me thinking though, that, as a culture, we mexicanos do give in to the occasional superstition…here are but a few…

I’m always getting teased because, when I look at a bebito for more than a second, I find a way to touch the baby’s head or his/her little arm.   Why?  Because I might give the baby “ojo”… I never want to be cause of a bebito’s discomfort …The Evil Eye, Mal de Ojo, Ojo

1522133_10201818926368874_52405388_n

A baby being admired and not touched can leave them with that desire to haunt them. This is known as the Evil Eye or “Mal de Ojo”. The baby becomes sick with a fever and cries unable to be consoled. To cure, a ritual with a raw egg is performed on the baby. The egg is then disposed in a glass of water to expose the evil.

–I heard this one at one of the radio stations I worked at.  I tended to drop my purse anywhere in my office when I got in, usually on the floor.  Once someone told me about this superstition, I was like ‘whoa’ and now defy you to look anywhere where my purse is in proximity, and you will see my purse on a chair, on top of a box, the trashcan, etc.  but rarely on the floor…Don’t Leave Your Purse on the Floor

IMG-20140116-01087 (3)

Putting your purse on the floor or ground is seen as bad luck. It’s thought of as you giving your money away. It is best to keep the purse near you and guarded.

 

This one totally explains why I’m not married LOL.  I try not to sweep my feet when I’m sweeping the floors…doesn’t always work.  Not  Sweeping The Single’s Feet

girl_or_woman_sweeping_the_floor_with_a_broom_0515-1005-0108-0928_SMU

It is said that sweeping a single (non-married) person’s feet is giving bad luck. The bad luck is bad relationships or never being married. In other words you are sweeping any luck of marriage away.

I’ve got to remember which ear is ringing and what I’ve got to do…let’s hope it’s always the right ear that is ringing or buzzing…Ringing Buzzing Ear

images (1)

A buzzing or ringing ear is said to mean that someone is talking about you. Some believe the right ear means good and the left is bad talk. If your left ear is buzzing then you are to bite your tongue in hopes of the person biting their tongue as punishment for talking bad about you.

–I’m totally known for calling people up in the middle of the night when I nightmare them or dream that they’ve died or something…good to know that I’ve been doing the right thing with this LOL   Share Your Nightmares

FE_DA_Nightmare_013013425x283

Having a nightmare must be shared especially when it involves people you know. Sharing the nightmare is said to break any chances of the nightmare from happening in real life. The nightmare must be spoken out loud and not just shared.

Love this one…gotta keep the vibe positive so that the money knows where to go…Don’t Scratch your Palm

400456-14138-50

 

Never scratch an itchy palm. The significance of an itchy palm is a sign of money coming your way. Scratching only drives that wealth away. You are to, instead, place money, either coins or dollar bills, in the palm and squeeze until the urge to scratch fades.

Now THIS one is almost like my Tio Mundo with the bucket on his head…hilarious!  Penny Licking

penny-licking-434x282

A quick bloody nose solution is said to be solved by licking a penny and placing it on your forehead. Once the penny dries it can be removed and the blood flow will have stopped.

Believe it or don’t (as Mike Torres says LOL).   These superstitions are always fun and, hopefully, harmless.