Turning The Tables: Attitude of Gratitude

10536919_637091349731086_7936612876363130219_n

 

This morning I woke up “comiendo gallo” in a grouchy mood.  I did not want to go over to the folks house, I did not want to get up, I did not want to do anything.   I knew that their house needed to be cleaned as company was coming over and I did not want to handle it.    I get there and, in less than 10 minutes, had transferred my badass negative attitude to the entire house.   Even Mom said, “ay so negative” to me.

As always happens when physical activity is involved, my bad mood subsides, and my dad says, “mija, esta casa vuele a limpio” referring to the clean-smelling house.  As I was en friega sweeping, mopping, cleaning, I realized that it was only 2 hours out of my day and that, in my lifetime, that my folks did MANY things that they probably did not want to do because of me.

Back in the day, I used to just get mad, throw my fit, get up and walk out of the house…now, I really really really make an effort to make things right before I step in or out of that door.  It’s important.  This is what I do:

1.  Put things in perspective:   Leave my badass attitude on the kitchen floor, in the trash, etc. and remember that it is, after all, only two hours out of my day to make things better for all of us.

2.  Remember why you do what you do:  I remember that I do this out of love for Mike and Margaret, plain and simple.

3.  Sit still. Practice gratitude and give out positive vibes:  I started doing this about a month ago.  It settles me down and it gives me a  chance to reconnect with Mom and Dad, apologize, and remember that these negative moments don’t last forever.

Thank God my parents are so cool…I know that it is not realistic for me to always be sunny and cheery,  God, Jesus, the Virgen of G and Inner Chingona have been great at stopping me in my tracks these past few weeks so that I remember just how blessed I am that BOTH Mom and Dad are still with us.   Our lives can change in an instant and one of us could be gone just like that…so it’s all about appreciating your loved ones and striving to be positive every day!

Leave a Reply

