“Hasta Que Te Conoci” – Wisdom from Jorge to Inner Chingona

 

desmotivaciones.mx_Hasta-que-te-conoc...-vi-la-vida-con-dolor-no-te-miento-fui-feliz-aunque-con-muy-poco-amor_134886972967

Regular readers know the importance that I place on my ‘FamFriends — those whom I choose to be part of my familia“. Jorge and I have been fam friends since our Junior High days, he has always been a big brother to me and I totally trust his opinion on all things life. He is also that ‘tio‘ just like I’m that ‘tia‘ or ‘nina‘ — we love our kids just as if we brought them into this world…many times, our ‘kids’ come to us for advice. When I don’t know what to do/say, I usually call Jorge.

Saw this email from Jorge and, being that I just saw Marc Anthony in concert last night, I have always loved his version of the song “Hasta Que Te Conoci”.  I confess that I never thought about it as a piece of advice to those who are looking for a person to share their lives with. While we often associate our youngsters with jumping in fearlessly, head first, into relationships, without thinking, and then it hits them, usually when it’s too late, that they should not have gone there in the first place … we adultos do the same thing and we are supposed to know better LOL.   Sometimes we end up picking up the pieces of our lives right along side of our “kids” when we suffer from a broken heart.  Love Jorge’s empowering advice all about loving and taking care of ourselves so that we do not entrust our heart, body, and soul to a person who can or will not honor these gifts we are so willing to give, that we learn to check ourselves before we wreck ourselves .  So Jorge’s advice works for those of us of all ages and I totally love the unique way with which he expresses himself.

0 (1)

 

hqdefault

Wisdom From Jorge:  i’ve bin lookin’ for this video forever!! finally found and wanted to share with u. originally created in 1986 by juan gabriel (el divo de los jotitos from my gen) and has bin covered by many since; my fave version is this one done by mana.

for the young ones, pay attention to the lyrics—it can be sooooo true…. trust me, i know this thins!! who and how u love is way important; gotta honor and take care of the heart cuz god didn’t put u on this earth to get “beat-downs” from nobody. however, if u do fall and that person “vale madre” (ain’t no good!!), juss know u will SURVIVE and life moves on. love someone who loves u like ur loved ones do; and u do the same for her/him/them (i’m down). juss make sure u honor ur soul/heart. wish someone had talked to me about this thins when i wuz ur age; had to learn a “todo lo pendejo!!”

I’ve attached videos by Juan Gabriel, Mana (Jorge’s favorite), and Marc Anthony (my favorite) all with lyrics because this simple message hits home en español! Choose the one ‘que te llega’ that GETS to you!

Gracias, de antemano, a ti Jorge for contributing, sin querer, to today’s blog entry and for always helping me unleash my Inner Chingona! I especially love your line “love someone who loves u like ur loved ones do”.  Simple yet profound.  Y si!

 

Mana’s version of “Hasta Que Te Conoci” with lyrics

 

Marc Anthony’s version of “Hasta Que Te Conoci” with lyrics

 

Juan Gabriel’s version of “Hasta Que Te Conoci” with lyrics

 

For those of you who need a quick translation of the song, please note:  I’m no songwriter LOL so you are only getting the basic, albeit passionate,  message of the song.  “I didn’t know about sorrow or tears or anything that made me cry…I never suffered, I never cried, I was really happy, I lived very well…Hasta Que Te Conoci/Until I met you, I looked at life thru pain.  Not gonna lie, I was happy, even though I had very little love.  This, I understood too late, that I should never have loved you, because now I think of you today more than yesterday and more…”  

 

Leave a Reply

