Day 7 of 15 Days of Hispanic Heritage Photo Challenge: Tiempo/Time #HHM15Foto

enhanced-23947-1434747455-1

 

Time. Never seems to be enough time. Time heals all wounds. Take Your Time. Todo A Su Tiempo. Dale Tiempo Al Tiempo.  So many ways to look at the concept of time.  In honor of Hispanic Heritage Month, I will focus on “Mexican Time”!  #HHM15Foto

a70d36156fc3225b3a7fa00c30f80a11

Mexican Time = Arriving on your own clock, not on the world’s clock.   Usually, this means that one never arrives at the appointed time of an appointment, celebration, meeting, etc. but rather arrives LATER than the appointed time.   Especially at parties and celebrations, if the start time is say 2pm, folks may not start arriving until well after 3pm!  It’s like no one wants to be the first one to arrive!  I’m not completely proud of this but it is what it is. I thought that it was just me, but it appears that my beloved mexicanos and Mexican Americanos all have problems with time!

b26466e9ede86d7de5d2faeb23d040f5

A couple of my colleagues swear by arriving early everywhere – up to a half hour early everywhere.   I always tell them that I wish that I could be like that and arrive everywhere on-time and stress-free.

1d434e709188002b8028bfa3be8df929

That sounds like a New Year’s Resolution in-the-making.  Good thing that I still have 3 months to think about making this change in my life.   omg, am I thinking about future changes to my life on “Mexican Time”?

Leave a Reply

