2016 Resolutions: Making Time for Friends. The Power of Amigos

10404064_1074333375941125_6793100964160189191_n

One of my 2016 New Year’s Resolutions has been to make time for my friends and to hang out with my friends a huevo LOL.   I’ve always known that I have been super-blessed to have these friends since my days at Sac State.  We have all kind of grown up together, some of us in the same major, some of us in clubs, some of us were roommates.  I will have to ask how it is that we met each other.  I swear that I don’t really remember the details of how I met all of these folks…this is how I know how important they are to me, it’s like we’ve known each other forever.

It never matters how long it has been since we have seen each other, or since we have last spoken to each other, the connection we have is a powerful one.

As I dragged myself out of bed this morning, I was barely feeling better from bronchitis, and I was already trying to figure out my excuse for not showing up LOL and then I thought, “these people have seen me at my best and, more important, at my worst”  so I pulled myself together and started for our designated meeting place.   I get to the place and some of them are already there doing what we all do best:  talking ish, smack, s%#@ as only we can do.

I was immediately comforted by this because I knew that I could be 100% myself, no taking care of anyone, no having to be anywhere I didn’t want to be, no pretense, no trying to impress anyone.  Is it the same for you when you get together with your BFFs?

Now the majority of my friends all became teachers and there are only very few of us who did not go that route.  I have the BEST time teasing these people mercilessly and was soooo happy that my only Communications major colega was present — if, for nothing else, to keep things lively and to talk about something else other than lesson plans (jus keedeen).

Lots of talking and laughing ensued for the next few hours and I remember that, while at Sac State, we were convinced that we could change the world!  Years and many reality checks later, we know that we may not be able to change the world but my friends are able to show me the power of friendship, unconditional love, support and yes, how much fun pendejadas can be!  My friends make me feel powerful enough to take on Monday at least!  I am positive that I will have something to laugh about until I see them again next time!

Make time to connect with your friends today…yeah yeah yeah life gets in the way but it’s always fun to reconnect and recharge!

 

One thought on “2016 Resolutions: Making Time for Friends. The Power of Amigos

  1. loved the pix; soooo glad everyone made the time to meet; to catch-up and start the new year off on a good foot!  everyone looks great and healthy; wonderful. 

    como sigues tu hermana?  love ur posts; u share good info applicable to most of our lives and trust me, i’m sure most folks listen, especially if they want to learn from the challenges and successes of another.  this is a good service and this is why i love the net; folks are more than willing to share what they know and they do it for free and we all win.  how awesome is that?  that’s what i dig about blogs; folks sharing their world view for free!! bueno mana, keep having fun, eh?  i’m listening to “dave ramsey” right now and loving his advise on finances.  i may not agree with him on other areas, but i love his advise on finances cuz they make sense to my brain.  god bless u and keep having fun on this, the first week of the year!  saludos y abrazo fuerte, 2bro.

Leave a Reply

